Page 1 of 1

Firefox defective when Picker extension is installed

PostPosted: 2013-01-25 20:37
by tidi81
System information: [ Citavi Version 3.4, Windows 7, English, Firefox 8.x - 18.x, -, - ]

When the Citavi Picker extension (version 2013.01.16) is enabled, I can only have one window open in Firefox 18.01. If I try to open a new window (e.g. by pressing Ctrl + N), nothing happens. New Tabs within the open Firefox window can be generated though. Also, after shutting Firefox down, it is not possible to restart Firefox. In the Task Manager/Processes, a Firefox instance apparently remains active when Firefox is shut down (and the Citavi Picker extension is installed). When I force quit the Firefox process I can restart Firefox (but the New Window problem persists). When I disable the Citavi Picker 2013.01.16 in Firefox I can restart Firefox without problems and I can also open new Firefox windows.

Is there a different version of the Citavi Picker Extension for Firefox that works?
(By the way: The Picker/Citavi functions fine, it's just that Firefox stops working properly.)

Re: Firefox defective when Picker extension is installed

PostPosted: 2013-01-28 10:16
by Patrick Hilt
Hello tidi81,

that sounds like a conflict between the Picker and some other AddOn in FF, because we cannot reproduce the problem.

Would you please post the list of your Firefox AddOns?

Best regards
Patrick

Re: Firefox defective when Picker extension is installed  Topic is solved

PostPosted: 2013-01-28 10:36
by tidi81
Hi Patrick. Thanks for your help. I had a live support session with Citavi and we indeed found that some interaction between the AddOns (and possibly plugins) caused the problem. When I disable the Google Global 2.8 Firefox extension, I can generate New Windows without problem (after restarting Firefox). However, the problem is not only an interaction betweeen Google Global 2.8 and Citavi Picker 2013.01.16, since when I deactivated all plugins and extensions (just one Adobe extension) except Google Global and Citavi Picker, it also works and I can open New Windows.
So for now, I will disable Google Global for my Citavi/Firefox work.